The Wonders of Developing Language

This morning, my toddler and I went downstairs to wake up my teenage son and get the laundry going for the day. This is part of our daily routine. Also part of our routine is the trip back upstairs, usually with too many things in both of our hands! Today, I was carrying  a load of clean laundry and my toddler had a toy lego lion in one hand and a bee hat on his head, though it kept falling off. As we started up the stairs, he realized he also wanted to bring a ball up with him.

“It’s Ok,” I said. “Shai will bring a ball up when he comes.” We proceeded up the stairs with my toddler stopping every step or two and calling out “Yaiy! Ball!” When he got no response, He called again, “Yaiy!”

“Yes.”

“Ball!”

“OK.”

Eventually we got to the top of the stairs where we await the arrival of Yaiy and the ball, as per command:)

Amazing how well he can communicate with so few words and sounds!

Note: He bounced the lion in the hat for several minutes and when it fell out, he proceeded to slap it around on the floor with a hockey stick. I thnk he will manage just fine without his ball…

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

