The Power of Suggestion

Yesterday, I took my two youngest sons for a long walk in the crisp fresh fall sunshine. It was glorious, refreshing and relaxing all at once. We ended our walk at a playground so that they could have some fun, especially the baby, swinging and sliding and generally running around.

I took said baby out of his stroller expecting him to run to the slide. He just stood there whimpering. My older son and I encouraged him, coaxed him, lifted him, cajoled him. He laughed at his brother’s antics and enjoyed a ride in the swing and on the bouncy whale toy but refused to propel himself with his own two feet! Every time we put him on the ground, he cried. We decided maybe his feet were cold and packed it in for the day.

In the van, on the way to pick the girls up from school, we blasted the heat. At home, my daughter bundled his feet in her warm fuzzy socks. Still, he refused to stand and cried everytime we forced the issue. I massaged his feet and legs. No crying, nothing seemed to be wrong other than that his feet were cold. OK. My kids took him to their room and played with him (sitting). Eventually, we moved on.

Until my husband came home and the entire story was repeated for his benefit. Our little boy chiming in with his whimpering at the appropriate moments. My husband declared that enough was enough and banned further conversation or reference to this “problem.” Sure enough, he soon resumed his regular mobile activities.

Amazing that a flair for dramatic, attention-seeking behaviour can be mastered at such a young age! Or maybe his feet really did hurt every time we mentioned them:)

Our minds are powerful tools, never to be underestimated. We are quite capable of convincing ourselves of almost anything. When things are within a normal range, why not harness that power to create a strong, beautiful and meaningful day?

Each and every moment, we are given the opportunity to choose how we will live it. How will we respond? How will we fill our moments? With what mood and atmosphere will we infuse them?

As mothers, our powers are even greater, with all the little eyes glancing our way and drinking in all we have to offer.

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

