It has been too long

As parents, we want our kids to be consistent in their good habits. At least, I do.

That is why, last January, I issued my family a 50 book challenge. My husband and I are firm believers in the myriad benefits of literacy. We put our money on the line and offered each child $1/book read in 2011 and if they reach the 50 book goal, we will add an additional $25 to their total. The money is a jumpstart and a motivator, as is the satisfaction of reaching a stated goal. My goal, was to see them reading every day, to facilitate them making reading one of their consistent good habits.

For November, my two oldest children and I have taken on another literacy challenge – National Novel Writing Month (nanowrimo.org). The stated goal is to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. My parental goal, is to make writing another consistent daily good habit.

Seems ironic that I am pushing consistency so fervently. The only thing consistent about me is my inconsistency! My husband lovingly calls me spontaneous – though I know my scattered approach to life often drives him crazy.

Take this blog, for example. Well, you know where I am going here:) Perhaps you are wondering, rather, where have I been? I have been busy being spontaneous – enjoying and supporting my children and myself over the summer, back-to-school, and holiday seasons. It was a long and arguably irresponsible hiatus. I hope you will forgive me and keep reading as we continue this beautiful journey of parenting together.

This is the consistent time of year and I will endeavour to be more consistent in my posting. After all, we have to practice what we preach for it to mean anything at all.

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It has been too long

  1. Amalia, you set a high example and my family is following suit. My daughter ands i have also signed up for the writing challenge. And yes, I too, am challenged in the consistency department! But hey, at least life is never dull and boring! Good luck, lets become writing buddies 😉

Leave a Reply

