Making the World a Better Place

The theme of my daughter’s bat mitzvah was royalty. We chose this theme for a couple of reasons. First, my daughter wanted to learn about tznius; and second, with the Royal Wedding and the Royal Tour, it just seemed to fit. Many of the details of the bas mitzvah celebration brought out this theme. We focussed on the idea that each and every one of us is a bas melech (daughter of the King). That means we are princesses. Aren’t you excited?

A princess has many privileges, and many responsibilities. One of her responsibilities is to do good in the world. She has a duty to make the world a better place. She needs to use her uniqueness, her talents and her skills to change the world for the better. My daughter is very artistic and enjoys working with her hands. We decided to have her use her skills to make the world a greener and more beautiful place.

I had read somewhere, sometime, that you could use old t-shirts in weaving. We did some research and learned an easy way to do this. Using t-shirt material I had lying around the house, we created trivets. These trivets were used as centrepieces at the bas mitzvah and one person from each table took one home. The benefits of our little adventure were great. We were able to use something (well, if we really used old t-shirts, it would have been a bit better) that would have otherwise been thrown out and filled our landfills. We created beautiful centrepieces that were also useful items that we hope will go on to happy lives in their new homes.

The original plan was that my daughter would make 8 of these trivets, one for each table at the tea party. However, as the date of the celebration got closer and the trivets were not yet completed, we needed to rethink our plan. By motzei Shabbos (the tea was Sunday, remember?), we had completed 3 trivets. My niece was visiting and had volunteered her time for the night shift (some of the kids chose to stay up at night to help, others to get up early in the morning). I showed my niece how to make the trivets and she set to work. By the time she went to bed, all 8 were made! The best part is that she learned a new skill and had fun making them.

So, if anyone has any t-shirts that are headed for the trash, drop them off and we will upcycle them into something new, beautiful and useful.

As we go into Shabbos, let’s keep in mind that we are here to improve the world, not just to reap its bounty. Have a wonderful Shabbos!

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making the World a Better Place

  1. I totally agree, and bravo to you and your wonderful family. Your daughter is learning so much she will be the best she can be in the years to come. Mazel Tov. I will take you up on that I do have lots of shirts with holes in them I usually just give them to Mada thinking they can have someone cover the whole with a patch or something. I’m not creative or at least I don’t have the time to be creative. But I will think of your daughter next time I have a good shirt that has a whole. Oh and just an idea your daughter can sell her creations and donate the money raised.

Leave a Reply

