Stepping Up To Shabbat

I had such good intentions this week! I went shopping on Wednesday. WEDNESDAY! Not Friday morning. Not Thursday afternoon. Wednesday!

I took the frozen chicken for Shabbat from the grocery bag and put it straight into the fridge to defrost so I could marinate and BBQ it on Thursday. We had pizza for dinner and I took out all the frozen vegetables to make 2 lasagnas, a crustless quiche and my cheesy cauliflower soup for Shavuot. It was Wednesday, remember? On Wednesday, I am allowed to do whatever I want – my focus does not have to be only on Shabbat. Plus, aren’t you proud of me that I am already cooking for Shavuot? Talk about planning ahead. I am trying to apply what I learned about planning last week.

Guess what? I got distracted. I got tired. Life happened. And look what Ezzy learned to do!

And that’s not all …

How high will he go?

We do NOT climb on tables! Somewhere along the line Ez missed that rule. Every time I took him down, he went right back up!

Finally I gave up…

And Ez was so proud of himself, he did a little jig!

It turns out that

he just wanted to clean up the garbage.

ALL of it! What a good boy 🙂

With so many exciting and busy adventures, I forgot all about the cooking. So, last night as Ez and I were getting ready for bed around 10 p.m., I saw all those vegetables and the chicken sitting in the fridge. If I didn’t do something with them before I went to bed, I was going to have wasted the wonderful head start I had. But my baby was screaming. I needed to tuck him in. I felt that I was going into erev Shabbat in even worse shape than ever! Ezzy was still crying and I was beginning to panic. I went and lay down with him.

By 11:30 p.m., Ez was sleeping peacefully. I forced myself out of bed, thinking of all the food that would be wasted if I didn’t get up. I made the two lasagnas and the crustless quiche and got the chicken marinating. It was now 1:30 a.m. and Ezzy was screaming for me again. Good night.

Or so I thought. He did go back to sleep and so did I, until he woke up at 5 and absolutely would not settle, at all. Eventually, I got up with him and paced the house – until 6:30 a.m.. At 6 a.m., as we were doing our pacing dance, I put the oven on to self clean so that I could bake for Shabbat after the kids went to school. As I tried to put Ez back in bed to sleep some more, he woke up! I nursed him and we both fell asleep. Ahh…

I heard my girls up and getting ready for school and checked my clock – 7:22 ! Yikes, my son, who was still fast asleep gets picked up at 7:30! I bolted out of bed and roused my sleepy boy. Somehow, we managed to get him dressed and out the door, with his lunch!

Now, the challah is rising, a cake is cooling, the potatoes are ready to mash, and the cauliflower soup is cooking away. Maybe it won’t be so bad after all.

Here’s to calm, organized, relaxed Fridays. I’ll get there one day, maybe :). In the meantime, we are savouring the moments.

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Fabulous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

