An Evening Out

Last night my husband and I went out for dinner. To a restaurant. Alone. A Date. We go out approximately once a year. There are two main reasons for this. First, my husband is rarely home. Second, I find that the hours between school and bed are precious ones with the children. It is the only chance I have to connect with them in their busy days. That being said, we left the kids in charge (and fed) and went out for the evening.

My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely meal complete with quiet, intelligent (I can dream, can’t I?), adult conversation. As when we were dating, we could focus our full attention on each other. It was a lovely, idyllic cocoon. After dinner, we went for a short stroll, taking the long way back to the car. About a block from the car, my cell phone rang – and our bubble burst.

Me: Hello

Daughter 1: Hi. When are you coming home?

Me: Why? Does your friend need a ride home?

Daughter 1: No, she went home. I’m just wondering.

Me: (as I pause to think, I hear son 2 in the background) Is son 2 still awake?

Daughter 1: (exasperated) Yes. I asked daughter 2 to tuck him in but she wouldn’t. She said she didn’t want to. Wait a minute, son 2 wants to talk to you.

Son 2: Hello (said sadly through clenched teeth)

Me: Hi son 2. What’s up?

Son 2: Everyone is being so annoying! (translation: they are all ignoring me and I miss you)

Me: We are coming home soon.

Son 2: Daughter 2 has a piece of glass in her foot.

Me: What? How did she get glass in her foot?

Son 2: I don’t know. (yelping in the background) Here, she wants to talk to you.

Me: What happened?

Daughter 2: (bursts into tears) I got glass in my  foot! Ouch! Ouch! Ouch!

Me: Can you see it?

Daughter 2: (Still crying) what? Oh, daughter 1 took it out.

Me: Go and wash it in the bathtub.

Daughter 2: That’s what I was doing.

Me: Ok. We’ll be home soon.

By now we are in the car driving home. About 3 minutes from home the phone rings again.

Me: Hello. (I don’t know exactly what was going on but it sounded like they each had a phone in their hands. I hear ny baby crying, screaming, actually.)

Son 1: Ezzy is really cranky.

Me: We are 3 minutes away.

Son 1: Ok. Do you want to talk to him? (he holds the phone to the screaming baby.)

Me: (very chirpy) Hi. Hi Ezzy! (sudden quiet in the background) Hi! Do you want to say hi to Ima?

Ezzy: Hi.

Me: Hi Ezzy.

Ezzy: Hi. Hi.

They are really all very competent, sweet kids. They really do not like when we go out at night. But they were fine – and they know they can do it, however annoying it may be.

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Evening Out

  1. HSaboMilner says:

    my rule of thumb when we have a grown up night out is to tell the kids to only call us if there are appendages falling off or the house is on fire.

    Doesn’t work but it makes them think twice before calling for no reason.

    Sorry your idyllic bubble was burst.

    • Great advice – thank you! Although, I believe my daughter would consider the coming hom update vital to her survival:)

      The good news is, the restaurant was too noisy and I missed the first phone call!

Leave a Reply

