A Rainy Day

It is raining today, as it was yesterday and the day before. Rainy days often have either a relaxing, snug-at-home kind of feel, or a restless, jumpy feeling in our house. Today we had a bit of both.

The early part of the day was mellow and snug. My eldest son worked quietly while I nursed and snuggled my baby and read a wonderfully light children’s fantasy book. My eldest daughter had a case of the “I’m too mellow for school” syndrome and came home an hour early with her sister.

The mood shifted to restless when I got home with my middle son (who, by the way, had been calm and happy the entire car ride home). He has since moved into the restless zone. A ball player by nature, he got used to running and kicking and throwing outside last week in the glorious sunshine. He normally has soccer practice Sunday mornings but as it was pouring rain yesterday, soccer was cancelled. By this afternoon, he had had enough of the quiet life. He has spent the last three hours running and jumping up and down our hallway, with the ball and without the ball. Sometimes shouting and cheering, sometimes singing, always running. 

Some of the cheering thoughts we have heard over the last couple of days with respect to the rain include:

1. When you see the rain, think of all the beautiful fruits and vegetables we will enjoy all summer. Yeah, it’s not working.

2. Israel really needs the rain, and we are getting it. We would really love to share:)

3. Look at how green and lush the grass and plants are – literally sprouting before our very eyes!

4. The best of all, in my mommy eyes, is the wonder and joy my little one expresses as he walks barefoot in the rain and the wet. This child who is terrified of the sound of the water running for the bath, let alone the bath, absolutely adores being out in the rain, getting completely and thoroughly soaked!

And so we thank Hashem for the rain and the water we so desperately need, even as we wonder if we really need quite so much:) Like everything else in life, it is all a matter of perspective – and there are so very many perspectives! I personally have enjoyed several of them today. I hope you did too.

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Moody Mondays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Rainy Day

  1. That’s “too mellow for school?” I thought it was “grumpy and overtired.”

    And I’m sure both girls “enjoyed” their younger brother’s energy!

Leave a Reply

