Organic Gardening Fair

I attended the Organic Gardening Fair with my neighbour this morning. The event was masterminded and masterfully organized by WOTT’s very own crafts editor, Ariella Hoffman. WOTT a woman!

I came home with lots of amazing information and some great seedlings to kick start this year’s garden. Check back on the WOTT website in a couple of weeks for a follow-up article.

In the meantime, I had some positive parenting feedback and learned a valuable lesson all in one morning!

Let’s start with the positive. Knowing that the fair was coming, I had my son chart the progress of the sun across our property for the past week – the blissfully sunny week :). He sketched the yards, photocopied the sketches and filled in the shadows every two hours or so. Now, we will know what to plant where, I hope. The gardening guru, Ariella, stressed the importance of knowing where and for how long the sun is on your property, as this will guide the successful planting and growing.

OK, the lesson. I volunteered my high school daughter to provide babysitting at the event – without getting her approval. Oops. Why did I do that? I guess I just thought that, of course, she would do it. Why wouldn’t she? I got carried away and forgot that she is not an extension of myself but her own distinct and beautiful human being. I need to learn to ask before I commit her to something, and indeed promised to try to do just this in the future. It is an important element in the respectful relationships I am hoping to develop within our family. I would not like it if someone volunteered me for something without asking. As a matter of fact, my husband did volunteer me for something this week and I flat out refused to do it! Double oops. My daughter was more gracious than I was. She, at least, kept the committment.

So, I am taking the pat on the back and the slap in the face and calling it a good, educational and balanced day:)!

Keep watching the WOTT website to learn about the actual gardening…

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Organic Gardening Fair

  1. Karni Goldfield says:

    Wish i could have come to the gardening fair..looking forward to hearing all about it!

    The point is to learn from our mistakes, even as parents, so you are obviously on the right track! As for your daughter you’ve taught her well..as you said she did keep the commitment..thats something to be proud of!

  2. T says:

    VERY exciting!!!
    what a great idea, to chart the sun on your property for a week to get the best possible growth for your plants and vegetation. BRILLIANT!

Leave a Reply

