Delicious Spinach

Our Spinach-egg Sandwich

I was all set to talk about how to hide veggies in food and all sorts of other fun tricks to get your kids (and husband) to eat them when I saw a link from Breakfast For Learning on facebook. The article features spinach as the food of the month for May. It includes spinach facts and a couple of recipes.

I am constantly peppering my kids with nutrition facts. So, it seemed appropriate to read this spinach fact sheet to my 15 year old son. I have been pushing spinach, salmon and avocado as brain food for years. I serve these foods up often and my son, who eats no vegetables, eats spinach. Since he is a 15 year old boy, I am sure the Popeye allusion also helps:)

As I began to read, my son came over to look at the screen. “Yum! Can we have that for lunch tomorrow?” he asked when he saw the photo for the included recipe. “Sure. You can even make it,” I replied. And make it, he did! Check out the photo of our delicious lunch!

He saw, he wanted, he created, he enjoyed. What more can I ask for? Now he wants the spinach chicken salad for Shabbat!

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Delicious Spinach

  1. Mmmm… looks yum! So impressed. Did you use fresh or frozen spinach? And what will you use for the chicken salad? I assume fresh, but baby or regular spinach, and don’t you find it an immense pain to check?

  2. Fresh baby spinach from Costco. It was clean and fresh so not to crazy to check:)
    I am going back for more for the cicken salad.

  3. We do spinach a lot – this is a great way to integrate it!

Leave a Reply

