Fabulous Friday

This week, I am experiencing an eerie calm. I am totally exhausted from Yom Tov and moving at a snail’s pace. And yet, Hashem is guiding me and helping “make” Shabbos in my house.

Today, I broke all of my “fabulous friday rules”. I went grocery shopping. I did not one, but two loads of laundry.  I even ran the dishwasher! I wanted to go to the library but kept forgetting:)

I guess it is the psychology of the later Shabbos we enjoy here in Montreal. I feel that I have all the time in the world. The truth is that I have another hour and a half. My son who went to hear Stephen Harper speak this morning and is now sweeping the house one last time. One daughter is in the shower; another tidying the last bits of the week away. My middle son is feeding himself and our baby. My husband is on his way home from work, I hope. Thanks to all of these wonderful helpers, we are all feeling calm and in control.

The very first book I read when I started learning about Judaism was Blu Greenberg’s How to Run a Traditional Jewish Household. Fireside. (1985). Greenberg describes two scenes of her family getting ready for Shabbos. She had five children and everyone had a task to help usher in the Shabbos. Whether it was polishing the shoes, or setting the table, the family was working together happily towards a common and beautiful goal. It was an “aha” moment for me. I knew then and there that I had found my “picture”.  This was what I wanted for my life.

More than twenty years later, Hashem is giving me the brocha of glimpsing this picture in my own home.

I am so scared that I have forgotten many things, hopefully nothing too essential!

Wishing everyone a warm, peaceful and meaningful Shabbos.

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Fabulous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

