Shabbos – A Gift From Above

Last Friday my mantra worked wonders. I walked around all day in a zone of calm. I even broke a couple of rules: I did a load of laundry, and I went grocery shopping. When I picked my daughter up from school at 11, I had not even started with the cooking and cleaning! I should have been frantic, but I just kept saying “I am going to make it.”

Last night, panic set in. I was feeling tired and overwhelmed. As Pesach is really right around the corner, I must make challah this week to use up the last of the flour. The freezer is emptying out so I have no delightful surprises to unearth there, and I need to buy the meat for the cholent! Not to mention that I am feeling a very strong pull to do things that have nothing at all to do with Shabbos!

Last Friday, as we arrived home from school, my daughter asked, “Ima, does Hashem give us Shabbos every week?” At first I thought, well, of course He does. But then she continued. “How else would we make it on time every week? It is proof that Hashem is with us and helping us all the time.” Wow.

She is right. I certainly don’t know how we manage to get all of the Shabbos preparations done each week. And, quite often, I see Hashem’s Hand various times that erev Shabbos day: speeding things up or smoothing the path for us. Just this morning, for example, Hashem made sure I was up a full half an hour before my usual time. Thank You for that gift!

This week, as I repeat my mantra and try to recreate the calm of last Friday, I will also recognize and acknowledge (and appreciate) that I am not alone. Nor am I in charge.

Have a wonderful Shabbos!

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Fabulous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

