A Thought for Thursday

When my daughter was very young, we had quite a long bedtime ritual. Every night, we concluded by saying Shema and singing Ha’Malach. She was nervous of being left alone (with her two siblings) in their room to go to sleep. I always reassured her by saying that there is nothing to worry about. When she says Shema, she asks Hashem to stay with her and protect her through the night.

One night, as I was leaving the room after all of the good-nights, she said to me, “Ima, how did you ever go to sleep when you were little? You couldn’t say Shema.” (I converted to Judaism as a young adult.)

She was four years old and she already knew how lucky she was!

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Thursdays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Thought for Thursday

  1. As the editorial director of WOTT, I am leaving a comment for you, our Parenting editor! I want to extend my gratitude for your professionalism, and dedication. You are an asset to have on board, and I love your blog! I am sure our readers will gain a lot of insight into reading personal snippets from your life. Thank you… we look forward to reading lots more.

Leave a Reply

