Pure Nachas

My high school daughter had a huge science project due today. Her group was to research and write a report on Uranus and Neptune. In addition, they were to make a model of each planet and prepare an oral presentation. They decided that for their oral presentation, they would make a documentary. My daughter enlisted her older brother’s help early on as he is an excellent filmmaker.

The girls worked from after school until 10:30 last night (when their parents finally insisted they come home). My two oldest kids then compiled all of the images and recordings into a movie. Every once in a while, my husband and I would hear a shriek of laughter ring through the house. At midnight, my daughter decided she needed to go to bed, leaving her loving brother to finish up on his own.

This morning we awoke to find the written report on the table with 4 CDs piled on top of it (one for each group member). My husband and I put in one of the discs and watched the presentation in utter amazement. Our daughter had done her entire section of “reporting” in a British accent with her usual dramatic expression. She made it sound so exciting that one of the planets had 11 rings, until, if you can believe it, 2 more were discovered! At the very end of the movie, after the credits, just before the image of the cover page of their report appears, is a single page of very large text that reads: “You may clap now. This project deserves 100 at least.” We were in hysterics!

What we loved the best, though, was the way the two of them worked together. They were so supportive of each other’s talents and skills. No jealousy, no competition. This is what an older brother all about – who else would stay up all night helping you create the best presentation ever!

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pure Nachas

  1. Shai says:

    You didn’t even mention that I stayed up till 4!!

Leave a Reply

