A Space of His Own

In the upcoming edition of WOTT, I wrote an article on academic motivation. During the course of my research, I interviewed four fantastic teachers. Some of what they shared ended up in the article; some on the cutting room floor. Here is a tip from the floor.

My son hard at work in his new office

Two of these teachers emphasized the importance of parents teaching their children time management and organizational skills. As parents, we should not only teach and model these skills, but support them as well.

One way we can provide this support is by creating for our children a specific time and a designated place to do their homework. This special place should be stocked with whatever the child needs: pencils, pens, erasers, pencil sharpener, markers, pencil crayons, rulers, etc. We all know this, right?

For some reason, this year, I have been having a hard time getting my seven year old to sit down and do his homework. I have been trying different things with him, with varying, but inconsistent degrees of success. Sometimes, I will ask an older sibling to sit with him. Sometimes, I will push it all off until Sunday. A couple of weeks ago, I started asking him to bring his work into the kitchen to do while I am making supper. This worked well as he was with me and I could both supervise and help, as necessary.

While busily cleaning for Pesach on Sunday, I found an extra folding table. I decided to create a special place only for this child and his homework. My husband brought the table up into the kitchen. Yesterday after school, I set up the table and called my son in to see his new office! He was so excited. He gathered his supplies and started in on his homework! Eventually, meaning after Pesach, I will figure out a way to store his essential supplies right there in his office. In the meantime, he has his space. May he use it to grow and learn well and happily.

He is still at it 🙂

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Tuesday's Tip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

