From Frenzied to Fabulous

I am trying to re-frame the horrors of the erev Shabbat rush. I tend to spend the day frantically trying to clean the house, and prepare a feast (or two) fit for a King. I do have a no-laundry rule for Fridays, and I usually have a menu plan and all ingredients in the house.  I also have several carpools, a week’s worth of tidying, cleaning and dishes!  Ok, so not quite a week’s worth, but it often feels like it.  Unfortunately, we fly into Shabbat in a frenzy.  Fortunately, my children are learning how to cook and clean. They are also learning to dislike Fridays. Thus my decision to re-frame.

My very favourite calm, smiling, and always pleasant Rebbetzin once told me that she used to find herself mumbling under her breath all day Friday. “I’m not going to make it. I’m not going to make it.” One day, she realized she was sending herself negative messages with these mutterings. She changed her refrain to “I am going to make it.” This simple adjustment transformed her Fridays from frenzied to fabulous.

I have tried to heed her advice. When I focus on her words, I am calmer. My children are happier and more productive. Sometimes, I purchase items I would normally make. Sometimes, I hide my mess under my rug, so to speak. Always, when I truly listen to those magic words “I am going to make it”, Shabbat comes in with the honour and peace that befits it.

This week, we see the beginning of WOTT. In the spirit of new beginnings, I am going to focus on calm success this erev Shabbat. No matter WOTT, I will try to stay calm. I will breathe deeply and repeat my new mantra, “I am going to make it.”

Shabbat Shalom, ahhh…

About wottparenting

I am mother to 5 delightful human beings, and hold a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a Ph.D. in Listening and Agreeing. This blog invites you to join me as I continue my learning journey with my children.
This entry was posted in Fabulous Fridays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

